The Equestrian Lifestyle Look

Whenever I meet someone new and they ask me about what I do for a living, they are immediately intrigued by my involvement with and knowledge of horses.  Men especially find the fact that I ride to be extremely sexy. And let’s face it a girl on a horse is pretty hot!  However, the reality is you don’t need to be on a horse, or have ever been on a horse to portray that same image.  When someone envisions an “equestrian” there are certain images that come into mind.  Some may conjure up a picture of a country girl with a short skirt and cowboy boots. Think floral dresses, tight jeans, tousled hair, leather jewelry, and possibly a hint of silver.  While another person may see a refined city girl with a slinky pair of white breeches and tailored blouse and coat. Sleek pony tails, leather accents, high collars, tall boots, and beautiful plaids.   Either image portrays this idea of living an Equestrian Lifestyle.  Being a dressage rider myself I like the English way of looking at things, with just hints of country girl thrown in for good measure.  I am a busy girl with a troubled back, so my opportunity to ride has been few and far between these days…but luckily my riding clothes look great with my skinny jeans and Dansko boots! In fact we have many customers, including a celebrity clientele, who wear equestrian clothing to places that are no where near the barn.  Goode Rider Jean breeches, Animo Coats, Dubarry boots, Pikeur Jackets, Joules Polo’s, all of these can be translated into mainstream fashion, while still authentically creating an equestrian look. Here are just a few examples from our Riding Magazine advertisement campaign.

This first look reminds me of a girl shopping in Aspen.  She’s wearing b//Vertigo breeches, Dubarry boots with fur lining, an Animo shirt, and Goode Rider Vest.

 Image

This is one of my favorite looks! This is definitely an urban chic Equestrian girl.  Animo Jean breeches, Royal Equus jodhpur boots and matching half chaps (unfortunately these are discontinued now!), Dubarry ruffle shirt and Barbour jacket.

 Image

This is a great look to take from the barn to out and about running your errands! Kentucky full seat jean breeches, Cheval Fashions show shirt, Joules Wellies.

 

Here is a whole family of Equestrian lifestyle ladies! Lots of Joules, Pikeur, Animo and Ariat in these looks. Plus that awesome Le Fash plaid shirt! This is a new company that I will dedicate another blog too.

 

Finally this is a look I styled today. I found this awesome horse print dress that I paired with my favorite Dankso boots (I personally have three pairs of these!) a Clever with Leather martingale belt, and a Cowgirls for a Cause Bracelet which perfectly defines this look as  “A kind of gal that needs to be lunged”!

Don’t forget to check out http://www.lasaddlery.com

for great deals on some of the ideas and items mentioned in my blogs!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. emcg
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 00:04:05

    Love the dress

    Reply

Leave a Reply

