Eye Catching Ratcatchers

My first day working in Equestrian Retail, a customer asked me where we kept the ratcatchers.  Having ridden dressage my whole life, I was sure this was one of those funny hunter/jumper things.  Once I found out it was a show shirt, I was of course curious of its origin.  I couldn’t find any information on how the term found its way into the fox hunting world, which of course trickled down into the Hunter/Jumper arena, but I did discover that an original rat catcher was a garment worn by men in London, hundreds of years ago, who bound their necks to protect themselves from the apparent vicious rats they were hunting.  Now if you have ever been to a hunter/jumper show you will no doubt know that the competition can get a little cutthroat, I don’t know if I would use the word “vicious,” but the Pony Moms alone can be quite fierce!  This makes it all the more important for you to have the most fabulous wrap collar in the show arena! 

One of my favorite new shirts to hit the equestrian scene is from an up and coming company, Le Fash. I briefly mentioned them in my last blog, and one of their fabulous shirts was featured in our special Mother’s Day Riding Magazine ad. There are three reasons I absolutely adore these shirts. First, they are different! I am a bit bored of the boxy Coolmax fabrics, in white, light blue, and lavender. Le Fash has striking plaids and feminine stripes, and the contrasting stretchy side panels make this shirt look fabulous with or without your coat. 

 

Second, they are not only Made in the USA (yeah!) they are made with 100% Egyptian Cotton and the side panels are made from  93% Rayon from Bamboo and 7% Spandex, which makes this shirt soft, light, breathable, form fitting as well as stretchy, and environmentally friendly. 

 

Finally, and most importantly these shirts epitomize what I discussed in my last blog, which is embracing an Equestrian Lifestyle look.  I would definitely wear a Le Fash shirt with a cute pair of boot cut jeans, or with my skinny jeans and Tucci Polo boots (I will have to show you these another time!)

 

In a nutshell, every woman should treat their bodies to one of these body flattering and chic shirts whether you are in the show or cheering someone from the sidelines!

Don’t forget to check out http://www.lasaddlery.com for great deals on some of the ideas and items mentioned in my blogs!

Leave a Reply

