What Women Want…

WordPress has a great feature that enables you to see how many people view your blog per day, what they are looking at most, who’s following you, and most importantly how they found your blog.  Today I discovered that by Googling: “riding breeches ass” somebody clicked on eqgirl…I can only hope this was a woman looking to find riding apparel that would make her look awesome from behind, and not something else!  But it got me to thinking about women and why so many of us are drawn to horses and what we really want out of this sport.  Of course it’s different for everyone, but I definitely believe that because horses are such sensitive creatures, women naturally feel more connected to them. We are also more adept at communicating with horses and as a result mutually understand each other, which can be extremely difficult for us in our human relationships, especially those with men!

Because we want to spend so much time at the barn, with and on our horse, we of course want to wear quality riding apparel that allows us the freedom to move, to breathe, and to obviously feel and look great at the same time!  It is no wonder then that there are so many Equestrian lines of clothing that have been developed, designed, and manufactured by female riders. As a woman in business, I think it’s extremely important to support other women in my field, so that we can have a stronger influence on the development and evolution of our favorite pastime.   As the main consumers in this sport it is our responsibility to use our experience and creativity to design clothing that will make us better horsewomen.

Many years ago when I was working at my first Equestrian retail job, a new riding apparel line had just been launched, and the owner attended a big sale at our store. She asked me if I would wear her breeches all day to showcase them to our customers.   Having worn Pikeur full seat breeches since I was a little girl, I was a bit skeptical of the unusual design and extremely tight fabric.  My first actual thought was that they looked like Star Trek pants and I feared they would show every flaw on my lower half!  However to my surprise they were not only comfortable to wear all day, they actually covered up my flaws, and even gave me a more flattering shape.  The only downside was that all day people kept coming over to check out my ass…thankfully the breeches made it look quite nice!

When the sale was over she let me take the Captain Kirk tights with me so that I could test them out in the saddle.  It was then that I truly fell in love with the F.I.T.S breeches.  Not only did I feel glued to the saddle, the crazy Star Trek looking design of the seat gave me so much more freedom of movement!  This was the first time that I began to see the need for innovation in riding breeches, and was excited about the possibility that the right clothing could actually make me ride better. Only a woman could have designed a breech with so many details, each having its own purpose…a multitasking breech if you will! 

I didn’t want to get it wrong, so here is all the ways this magic breech will make you feel like Wonder Woman in the saddle! (Taken directly from the company)

Our patented design incorporates an athletic gusseted crotch that is leather-free and has no center seam thereby eliminating the tendency for the breeches to pull down at the crotch or feel in any way binding.

Our patented Powernet 4 way stretch “ab” panel wraps from your left hip around your abdomen to your right hip. This gives you subtle but effective body core support and smooth, flattering lines to your tummy and hip areas. Powernet at your inner calf helps alleviate bulk and heat build up inside your boots and also affords you the closest possible contact between your leg and your horse.

Body Sculpt fabrics and garment engineering make our breeches fit you like a second skin. The front of our waistband is slightly dipped for your comfort while the back is raised for increased coverage and support. At two inches wide, our waistband flatters shapes and supports you as do our slimming design lines and flat seam construction. FITS All Season Microfibre fabric is double sided. It features a smooth and very durable surface that imparts a rich luster to the breech color. The inside of the fabric is a looped twill construction that camouflages cellulite, and comfortably supports and shapes your legs and body.

Check out my blog as I will showcasing other Equestrian Clothing lines founded by women!

And of course check out www.lasaddlery.com for great deals on riding apparel!

Leave a Reply

