Why Not White!

I had a brilliant idea yesterday for an Equestrian Apparel Challenge…white breeches!

I have had a love affair with white breeches every since I was a little girl and fantasized about competing in my first dressage show.  White breeches were not something you purchased if you were not showing, so when my mom bought me my first pair of Pikeur full seat breeches for my Dressage debut at the Malibu Tennis and Riding Club, it was literally a dream come true. That was when full seat breeches were still made with real leather and you had to actually pull on your Frankenstein boots! 

Just like little boys who want to wear their Batman costumes to bed, to the park, to school, I wanted to wear my white breeches all the time. However, white pants on a child at the barn…not exactly an ideal combo.

To this day I still find myself wanting to buy every pair of white breeches we see at the trade show.  I love the way they look with a crisp white shirt, or sharp polo.  They are simply and subtly sexy but in a very classic Jackie O’ kind of way.  They look great with polo boots, cowboy boots, field boots, even cute wellies look chic when paired with the right pair of white breeches. 

 

Fortunately I remembered last night that I still had my white GPA breeches that I had worn as part of a Halloween costume last year. At approximately 10pm I started playing equestrian stylist with my wide collection of fashion boots, various tops, jackets, etc.  I found that my comfy white breeches looked good with everything from a simple striped Splendid shirt, to a bohemian Lucky blouse, and were particularly fantastic with an oversized belted cashmere sweater.

Unfortunately it was getting late, and my extremely weary eyed husband could not stay up any longer to take pictures of me in my best white breech outfit!  So sadly I don’t have any personal examples just yet, but I did compile a few pictures that I hope will inspire you to either style your own pair of white breeches, or give yourself a reason to finally buy some!

 

If you did want to purchase a great pair of white breeches to style, my personal suggestions would be Goode Rider (featured  in this blog with the black and white stripe tank and wellies), Pikeur Ciara, B//Vertigo Kimberly (featured in my first blog), or a new breech company Lo-Ride Equestrian which is shown below, that we now carry at LA Saddlery!

 

When researching white breeches I also came across some fabulous white equestrian boots and even…yes…a white Dressage saddle by Tekna!

 

As always don’t forget to check out www.lasaddlery.com for great deals on Equestrian Clothing! 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. silke
    Jun 30, 2012 @ 13:03:25

    great !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

