Cut From the Same Cloth

It’s been almost a week since my last blog…and I can honestly say the loneliness of being on my own has gotten the best of me and drained a lot of my creative spirit! Having been an emotionally neglected child still has its residual effects on me, especially when I am on my own for an extended period of time. The unlovable feeling kicks in like clockwork, and then the inevitable anxiety finds me, and I am almost paralyzed with worry and a sense of abandonment…( I know a bit heavy for an equestrian fashion blog, but bare with me, it will get better!)

When I was a little girl, I was morbidly shy and awkward, always clinging to whatever body part of my mother’s was available, burying myself in books, and living out most of my life inside of my imagination. Luckily I was fortunate enough to have discovered horses, and it was at the barn that I finally found some peace from my nervous and insecure world, and riding became my religion. The ponies were my best friends and most trusted confidantes and over the next 15 years that I rode and competed, I became more and more confident and comfortable in my own skin, slowly prying me from my closed off shell.

Even though I became a competent and functioning adolescent and young adult, I still always felt a bit out-of-place or misunderstood outside of the Dressage arena. However, in my early twenties, I took my first trip to Italy, and I can honestly say I immediately felt at home, as if the very fabric of my genetic code was realized, and I truly saw myself for the first time. My great grandparents on both sides came over from Southern Italy and Sicily and set up shop in New York. So my love for Italy, its vibrant history, colorful people, and breath-taking landscapes are literally part of who I am and who I want to become.

The Italians are quite a fun bunch. Very unapologetic for who they are and how they live their lives, which is full of passion, joy, drama, art, and of course food! They embrace beauty with a vengeance, challenge the conventional, and are casually chic and effortlessly sexy. And boy can they make clothes!!! Which is why I am always so excited when I find a new Italian Equestrian Clothing line.

Last year at the trade show, we just happened to walk into a far back corner of the convention center. Tucked away like an undiscovered secret, sat two of the most beautiful men sitting behind racks of the most stunning riding apparel I have ever seen.

One of the fine-looking gentleman could have been a dead ringer for an Italian Hugh Jackman, and I would have happily bought rocks from him if that’s all he was selling! But fortunately what he had to offer was an exquisite line of Italian riding apparel.

Every piece had sleek clean lines, fabulous details, amazing fabrics, and emanated a worldly elegance.

I would have packed my suitcase full of breeches, coats, and shirts if they let me!

Luckily LA Saddlery customers won’t have to wait much longer, as we have some of the line coming this summer and fall!

The clothing honestly speaks for itself….you can see from the Cavalleria Toscana collection how high the bar should be set for the best in Equestrian Fashion….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne H. Birks
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 22:11:35

    Check out Kimball Robeson the Equestrian Health Coach. She just moved to the La Jolla area, and she is dedicated on helping all you equestrians eat better so you will compete at your very best!

    Reply

  2. Marnye
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 05:29:18

    Let me know when it arrives. Fabulous and thanks for sharing your personal story. Very honest and brave of you. Besides, when you share like that you find comrades who understand.
    Marnye

    Reply

Leave a Reply

