Best Kept Secret in Sonoma

Despite the very disappointing primetime coverage of the 2012 Olympic Summer Games, particularly with the complete absence of the Equestrian rounds, I am still in full blown competitive mode! Rooting of course for my fellow Americans, but also for all of the talented and fiercely driven athletes around the world. I especially love an underdog…or in my business…a dark horse.

If I were to compare myself and LA Saddlery here at Sonoma Horse Park to an athlete’s Olympic presence it would be a toss up between the bad ass Misty May Treanor, who catapults herself into victory particularly when she’s falling behind…or the feisty Aly Raisman who was happy to come into this Olympics under the radar, stealthily holding strong to secure her a position at the top.

And here’s why…after two weeks of being in a less than stellar part of the show grounds, virtually hidden to the participants perusing vendor row, I started to get a little fed up of hearing…”Wow we didn’t know you were here!” “why are you so far away?” “you are in the worst spot!” and my personal favorite “the last vendor in this spot cried!”

Needless to say I started to feel a bitterness creep over me as the days went on, envying my competitors who were nicely nestled between the main arenas and all the action.

But here’s the thing. I have had really fantastic customers, which led to not only some great sales but also budding relationships from people all over the west coast…including Oregon which houses some fabulously dressed equestrians!

And after much contemplating, I began to realize that my hidden location makes me this great little secret, an unknown, a gem if you will! And I’m drawing lots of attention away from the other vendors and their posh spots. In fact, and not to get too conspiracy theory on you, but I am going to go as far and say the other vendors probably had something to do with my exile like post. Which would normally make me feel abandoned and unloved, but this is the business of fashion, and I like to think they want me at a disadvantage because I’m a threat. And that’s a compliment. And a truth by the way! Never bet against a Sicilian…

I have always been a fierce but fair competitor and I am relishing my off the beaten path location, because let’s be honest I am a bit off as well! I think outside of the norm when researching new lines to bring into LA Saddlery and I will never give up my fight to open the hunter world to the possibilities in equestrian attire that aren’t conforming and bland. Stylish and put together but still individually spirited in nature. That’s my plan of attack!

Just to prove it…here is a little sneak peak of a another stunning Italian line LA Saddlery is in talks with…go see Tabitha at our main location in Burbank to check them out in person and place any pre-orders!

20120802-144959.jpg

20120802-145047.jpg

20120802-145115.jpg

20120802-145139.jpg

20120802-145206.jpg

20120802-145239.jpg

20120802-145309.jpg

20120802-145408.jpg

And for all those keeping score…there is only one Italian equestrian in Sonoma…and she’s five foot nothing hidden behind a big white tent!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurel
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 16:24:25

    Great way to look at your situation. A private location for your equestrian boutique! Aren’t some of the best places often a little bit off the beaten path!

    Reply

  2. beton
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 06:23:20

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will come back very soon. I want to encourage you to continue your great posts, have a nice morning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

