News Flash: A Two Toned Tech Zip Up Shirt is NOT Equestrian Fashion!

One of my all time favorite movies is the brilliant James L Brooks film, Broadcast News.  If you have never seen it then Netflix it tonight!  It’s smart, original, funny, well-acted, basically everything that movies aren’t today.  I am particularly fond of Jane, played by Holly Hunter. She’s this fantastically Type A and tightly wound control freak that is immensely passionate about her beliefs, refuses to lower her standards, and also happens to be exceptional at her job …which of course is how I would fondly describe myself!  And I woke today having a Jane moment. Basically needing a few minutes to unplug and have a good cry! 

But I got to work hopeful I would find some inspiration for my blog in one of the several equestrian industry publications that I haven’t yet perused.  However to my dismay the “fashion” sections, or my personal favorite “English Elegance” section was filled with the same old companies and the same old plain zipper shirts, one note jackets, and cotton tan breeches etc etc..blah blah blah! This is not fashion people…this is functional riding apparel. And there is nothing wrong with functional riding apparel, but please don’t insult my fashion intelligence and lump these generic items in with a real equestrian fashion line like Goode Rider.  They are just not one and the same!  

So my quest today was to write about some equestrian brands that often get left out of these so called fashion write ups…such as Kentucky, Gersemi, Marigold, and even Pikeur.  But unfortunately when I went to look online to find some stylized pictures from these lines the pickings were slim. I did however find an abundance of these pictures….

 Image

And these…

This one just makes me sad.

 

I know at some point I may get death threats for some of my blog rants…but it’s only because people don’t want to admit that they know I am right!

Best line from Broadcast News…when Jane blatantly tells the Network’s Producer he is making a bad decision:

 Producer: It must be nice to always believe you know better, to always think you’re the smartest person in the room.

Jane: No. It’s awful.

 

And it is awful! Not to mention exhausting.  I am really tired of trying to convince people that equestrian fashion is a different animal than riding apparel.  And since I couldn’t find all of the right pictures online I figured what better place to take pictures than at LA Saddlery!  They say a picture is worth a thousand words…so here goes…

Riding Shirt

 

Equestrian Fashion

 

Riding Zip-Up Jacket

 

Equestrian Fashion


Riding Breeches

 

Equestrian Fashion

 

Show Coat

 

Equestrian Fashion

If it’s still not clear…

always remember that Equestrian Fashion is all in the details..

In the  statement…

The Elegance…(the real kind..)

And the attitude…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Savannah Brentnall
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 23:30:59

    The main difference seems to be in the price tags.

    Reply

    • rspurge
      Aug 16, 2012 @ 00:02:58

      Thanks for reading! Check out my blog “The Price of Fashion” There are a lot of great equestrian fashion items that are more reasonably priced. Goode Rider, Equine Couture, Horze, Horseware Ireland, all of these companies have great lines at good price points. The funny thing is some of the plain riding apparel shirts and jackets etc are actually more expensive! And you can basically find the same thing at Big Five or even Target. I also always recommend customers who are on a budget but love to look fashionable, to check out clearance racks at the end of a season for some great deals. Its also the reason we decided to have flash sales on wwww.lasaddlery.com so that we could offer great high end fashion items at reduced prices. We also always try to get seasonal samples from our companies like Pikeur and Joules so that we can sell them to our customers at 30-60% off!

      Reply

      • Savannah Brentnall
        Aug 16, 2012 @ 00:06:11

        Thanks for the reply. I love that you get samples–didn’t realize you did that. And I just bought my first Horze breeches (haven’t ridden in them yet).

        I love the photos you post, but Gersemi and Animo are just way out of the price range of most adult amateurs like myself. Still, I’ll be on the lookout for your sample sales!

  2. Carrie Mc W
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 01:20:04

    LOVE IT! Way more fun these days….I remember when velvet collars were the rage….and the big option was what kind of pin on the collar 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

