Size does matter!

So you have all seen me, you know I am a pint size person. That’s why most of my life I have been very comfortable in a full size bed. When I moved in with Mike 10 years ago we upgraded to a Queen which at the time felt absolutely luxurious! I had no problem sprawling out my legs and arms without pushing a 6ft guy off the bed. However then we had Betty…

And as you can see she is a bit of a cover hog! But she is my baby, the love of my life, my soulmate…and who could possibly be upset when this is the first thing you see when you wake up!

And then Mike had to have a cat…so we added Diego to our little family. And he and Betty became best bed buds right off the bat!

So with Betty in between us, and Diego usually on top of one us…lets just say the once luxurious Queen size bed started to feel a little claustrophobic!  But we adjusted, became more flexible in our sleeping positions, and eventually I found just the right way to contort myself to allow my furry friends to become permanent fixtures in our bed.

And then….we got Joules…she prefers to sleep right up against you at all times!

Ok..so now we have little ole me…a 6ft man, a 75lb Betty, an 8lb Diego (which when on your stomach starts to feel quite heavy!) and a 70Lb Joules…in what now feels like a twin size bed!  Soon enough I have been completely edged out of the picture…

We slept like this for three years!  Wait…let me rephrase. We lived like this for three years..I am pretty sure we never slept! And I kept wanting to upgrade to a bigger bed, but damn it beds are expensive! Not to mention all of the new bedding, headboard..etc.  Which makes me a perfect example of how shoppers are a bit Schizophrenic. I had no problem dropping way too much money on the 8 birthday dresses I bought this year, which by they way I still haven’t worn! But when it comes to something I will be using for literally half of my life, I get gun-shy with my wallet.

I see the same thing happen when customers come into buy a helmet, especially Dressage riders.  Our heads are the most important part of our bodies, yet we don’t want to spend too much money on them because we hate the way they look or feel, or whatever other irrational rationale we give the salesperson.  

Believe me I get it, I grew up riding dressage, and we never wore helmets.  During the show we wore these cute little velvet hard hats with no strap.

These darling hunt caps are still used today for fashion shoots, because they are synonymous with how an Equestrian should look, and they are adorable on most people.

But lets be honest, if you were to have a fall, they would do absolutely nothing to protect your head from injury.  But while most of us know that, we continue to hold onto our denial that it won’t happen to us because frankly who wants to put one of these gigantic mushroom-shaped contraptions on our heads!  Well I do for one!

 

Usually when a customer tells me they look ridiculous in a helmet, I put one on for them so they can see someone really look silly! But I love my head much more than I care about looking silly.  And now there are so many great options for helmets that it can be fun to incorporate your helmet into your overall equestrian look.

You just have to make sure you get one in the right size!!!!  Meaning don’t get one that feels fantastic because it basically is just sitting on your head!  Just like a Queen size bed is too small for the zoo that is living in my house, an overly big “comfy” helmet is not going give to you the protection when you really need it. So size does matter! In fact so does shape.  Everyone’s head is shaped differently and even though you love that $50 schooling helmet because its nice and inexpensive, the $300 one fits your head perfectly and may even save your life! Are you really going to argue that your life is worth less $250 dollars…I don’t think so.

So here are some of my favorite picks for helmets. Remember as nice looking as these helmets are, they still may not be the right one for you. When you go to purchase a helmet make sure you go to a tack store that is well-versed in properly fitting your noggin.

The best looking schooling helmet on the market I believe is the Ovation…they come in several styles and colors and have a dial fit system so that you can customize the tightness as needed. They are also pretty low profile so they tend to frame your face better than some of the more bulky schooling helmets.

You really can’t go wrong with a Charles Owen. Honestly they are still one of the best helmets on the market and come in a variety of styles and colors so you can always put your personal touch on your headgear.

I am particularly fond of this beautiful hunter green one…it would look spectacular with a nice tweed hunt coat!

I have a dressage customer that has 3 or 4 Ary8’s all in different colors to match her different coats and Shadbellies. We are currently ordering her a custom lavender one to go with this awesome Animo Shadbelly!

And finally, as much as I love my GPA Helmet, I also really love the way the Samshield helmets feel and look on me. They are classy, elegant, and you can add all kinds of skins and bling to them. 

So there it is…size does matter when purchasing a bed or a helmet, and remember not to be too cheap when you are choosing either…You don’t want to lose sleep or your head over a few hundred dollars!

Leave a Reply

