Riding Boots NEVER go out of style!

Here I am at my very first Dressage show where I scored a miserable 48% because, Sweetheart, the little old mare school horse, decided to whinny her way through the entire test with her head sticking straight out! She was thrilled to be showing off in the dressage arena after years of going in circles at the riding school.  I however was not so thrilled, and after reviewing my test, cried silently to myself and then dramatically crumpled it up and threw it away, vowing to never score that low again! I was quite the little competitor, and after that dressage diva display my trainer knew it was time for me to get my own horse.  

And get my first pair of real dressage boots.  I vividly remember them, in fact I may still have the scars! They were custom Vogel Dressage boots. Pull on, stiff as hell, need three people and some WD40 to get you out of them, kind of boots. I believe I was about 8 years old.  To me it was a right of passage, to suffer through the pain of walking up and down the stairs to break those bad boys in. And because I was a growing girl, I had to break in several pairs of Frankenstein boots for the next 5 years! 

So now when kids come into LA Saddlery and beg mommy for a pair of tall boots, or when new adult riders choose field boots over paddocks and half chaps, and they easily slip their foot into the unzipped tall boot, with the super soft leather, elastic panel, and cushy rubber sole, and have the gall to bitch and wine about how “uncomfortable” they are, I just laugh and say “suck it up ladies!”

Tall riding boots today are built more like fashion boots then riding boots, which is why we sell several pairs a year to women who strictly wear them with skirts, dresses, and skinny jeans. In fact last year a friend of mine who owns a lovely little shop on Beverly Drive, Dale Michele, directed a young woman who worked for Ralph Lauren to our shop to find some riding boots. Apparently Ralph didn’t make her size and were a bit out of her price range. So off to LA Saddlery she came and purchased a pair of Ariat Heritage Kids tall boots!

She has subsequently sent several of her regular customers our way to purchase tall riding boots to be worn strictly for fashion. Because lets face it riding inspired boots have been an integral part of the main stream fashion industry for some time now. 

 

And why not! They can be sleek, cool, sophisticated, edgy, sporty, and the real ones are now made to be extremely comfortable and usually cost less than most high-end fashion boots.  I can’t tell you how many people stop me on the street when I wear my gorgeous burgundy Tucci Polo Boots or my simple black dress boots, to find out where I bought them. 

And now you have several Equestrian apparel companies, including Goode Rider, Ariat, and GPA, that are designing fabulous riding inspired fashion boots. 

But to be honest I actually prefer real riding boots as my personal accessories to my everyday wardrobe. Take the Tucci Leonoardo dress boot.

Not only are they 100 times more comfortable than your high-end fashion boot, they look stunning, and are much more durable! Plus you can actually ride in them…money well spent!

Here are a couple of my other favorite riding boots that can double as fashion boots…next time you get some boots think brown! They are definitely coming back in style in the arena and they look gorgeous with jeans and sweaters. I love the simplicity of this classic Konig field boot. 

Go for brown in a paddock boot as well. These Sergio Grasso ones are sexy as hell!

For an edgier look, I really love the Ariat Volant boots. They are bit biker chic, and will definitely give you a stand out look! Plus they are ridiculously comfortable and great for everyday riding.

If you want a great looking boot for riding and fashion, but don’t want to go overboard in price, then Tredstep’s Donatello boot is one of the best cost-effective field boots on the market.

If you haven’t tried this already, go ahead and clean up your tall boots and wear them out next time you hit the mall. Pair them with your cutest pair of breeches, skinny jeans, or tights, hell wear them with a skirt or dress! I guarantee you someone will stop you and say how much they love your look!  Then send them to LA Saddlery to get fitted for their own : )

Leave a Reply

